Long weekend in Nebraska

Today is sunday and I have just come home from church just about. I will explain what I did today, the snow-days and what I am gonna do rest of the day here.

As earlier explained, we got thursday and friday off from school as snow-days. Here I had a ton of fun and did some fun things from playing board-games like scrabble to making my own version of Harlem Shake Video with some friends here. I have already explained what I did thursday so I won`t go into too much details about that, I am however explaining a happening friday in particular. Me and Andrew (my host brother) had some friends over from school and we made our own version of the Harlem Shake Video. It`s available on my facebook page cause I`m tagged in it. There you can also see who else is in the video, if you don`t have me on facebook I guess you`ll miss out!

Saturday I made an awesome day in the wonderful town of Seward in Nebraska with Victoria and her family. To start the day I had Waffles at «home» before we drove to Seward to watch a basketball-game my host-brother Jake had there. Victoria came then around noon and I joined her the whole day. We had so much fun! We went to this place called JD`s coffee-shop, visited my first Concordia Basket-ball game (college-level-basketball). I joined her and family for the game and it was great watching even though Concordia lost to Northwestern in Iowa. After this I returned to her home, we played board-games watched Phantom of the Opera and ate amazing cake Victoria made earlier. It was a chocolate-mousse cake with Oreo in the bottom, it was delicious! With the Phantom of the Opera I really liked the movie, I had heard about it before even though I was not knowledgeable about the movie nor the genre of opera. I also read some of Victoria`s stories yesterday, she is an incredible writer whom I believe can publish things someday! It is amazing how God has created each of us differently with different talents and gifts. I am experiences this everywhere I go and it`s important to state that one talent is not better than another.

Today I went to church at Faith Lutheran in Lincoln with my host-family. At the church-service we had a visitor named Gary Thies from Mission Central, a missionary talking to the congregation about missionary work and it was amazing. He led an organization sending out Lutheran-Christian missionaries all around the world from Ethiopia to Vietnam to North Korea, it was amazing and really inspiring. His speeches were powerful and he spoke about what he believe to be darkness coming over the US in form of values within society. This was not a political agenda meeting but rather a reminder that we live in a sinful world, God created the world and we have done wrong; we are born in sin in need of a savior which is Christ dying on the cross. Thies had a good view that in my opinion is correct with the holy world of scripture regarding that the world is going to turn away from God, the real values of the bible and the gospel that Christ is our savior and solution, the key to salvation. Galatians 3:22 states this: But the Scripture declares that the whole world is a prisoner of sin, so that what was promised, being given through faith in Jesus Christ, might be given to those who believe.

I had a great time in church today and I got reminded about how in this world, we will never find a solution apart from God. He is not of this world but has overcome this world through Christ dying for us. I hope you know this message cause it`s gonna determine whether or not you`ll endure forever. It will determine if I see you in heaven or not and I pray and hope that I will!

Later today I will be going to Dodgeball at church and do some homework and I am also planning on Skyping with my family in Norway. I am looking forward to it and I am happy for the blessing of being in the US. God has blessed me richly and I thank him by giving my life to him, I sacrifice very little of what Jesus did but «this little light of mine, I am gonna let it shine»!

Stay fresh folks andd keep believing in God, our creator, Jesus our savior and the Holy Spirit our comforter and counselor. It is the way, the truth and the life and the most importance you can ever find. I hope you know your role in this world as a sinner in need of Christ, saved by grace and Christ`s actions on the Cross. Tell the great news to others as I am trying to do now, proclaim who you are in Christ and how the belief of this has transformed you as 2 Corinthians 5:17 states: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

Thanks for reading haraldmeetsworld about my life in US and how I am blessed by God in everything, blessings from Harald in Nebraska!

 

Legg igjen en kommentar

