Påske/Easter in Nebraska 2013

Hi and happy easter! Today is maundy thursday and I am sitting in study hall in room 101 at Lincoln-Lutheran at N56th street in Lincoln, NE. This post will be describing a bit about my easter-plans and more importantly why we celebrate easter and the importance of this. I will not in norwegian but in English (sorry for that!). If someone wonder about why, it is solely because I want this blog to be a channel of Gospel spreading through me given to us by God. I want everyone to be able to access this in the universal language of English since I´ve experienced people from all around the world reading this blog. I will therefore write mostly in english with some norwegian posts every once in a while.

This thursday is the last day of school before we have some time off, friday the weekend and monday. It is disappointing to only have 2 days off school, I am used to 2 weeks from Norway so it`s kind of an transition. My easter-plans this year are kinda packed:

Today I got school, soccer-practice, church-service and maybe I`m going out to eat with the norwegians here with me in Lincoln this year and those coming last year here on vacation. If I`m not going out to eat with them tonight I will go out tomorrow morning supposedly. I also have church tomorrow and some activities and traditions planned by my host-family, but I dont know what they are yet. Saturday I am doing something again with my host-family but I don`t know entirely what it is we`re planning. I am not too informed at this point as you maybe get the feeling of too. I am sunday however going to church again, skyping with family back home and doing some other easter activities. I hope to paint eggs, eat candy and such things as I always do in easter to get a sense of this wonderful easter-feeling here though it hasn`t reach me yet. However, all these things I «need» to do is unnecessary for what I need to do.

Easter as you see is not about skiing, eating candy and having time off school as Norwegians do it or what traditions Americans have, easter is the celebration and acknowledgement of what Jesus Christ did on the cross for us! He is solely the reason for the season when it comes to easter and this easter I will like to spend time with him, discovering the true meaning of easter is a stronger sense. Often times I am at easter so determined to do as much as possible in the smallest amount of time, so I forget all about what easter is really about. I tend to forget this, but I pray to God that I understand more and more as I live and I believe I will understand more this year as well. To help get educated I am going to church today, tomorrow and sunday. This is because I am interested in showing how I dedicate myself to Christ, stating my sinfulness and need for him and celebrating the principles of easter, what happened and other things this year. Today together with the Faith Lutheran community, I am having the Lord`s supper as Jesus did with his deciples the night before he died for our sins since we are indeed sinful. Tomorrow I am going to good friday to church again to dedicate myself to Christ in my small selfish ways. I try to stay as close to my heavenly father as I can since in myself I am condemned and in Christ I am saved. It is therefore this easter, a question you need to consider. Do you acknowledge that Jesus Christ is your lord and savior? I know I do, I am a sinner saved by Christ for what he did this easter and I am honored to be able to proclaim his Holy Gospel to the world this year and throughout my life!

Here are some bible verses connected to easter to read for you:

Acts 13:34-35

«And as for the fact that He raised Him up from the dead, no more to return to decay, He has spoken in this way: ‘I will give you the holy and sure blessings of David.’ «Therefore He also says in another [Psalm], ‘Thou wilt not allow Thy Holy One to undergo decay.’

Jesus Foretold his own Resurrection

Matthew 20:18-19

«Behold, we are going up to Jerusalem; and the Son of Man will be delivered to the chief priests and scribes, and they will condemn Him to death, and will deliver Him to the Gentiles to mock and scourge and crucify Him, and on the third day He will be raised up.»

Mark 9:9

And as they were coming down from the mountain, He gave them orders not to relate to anyone what they had seen, until the Son of Man should rise from the dead.

John 10:17-18

«For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life that I may take it again. «No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.»

The Resurrection

Luke 24:1-12

But on the first day of the week, at early dawn, they came to the tomb, bringing the spices which they had prepared. And they found the stone rolled away from the tomb, but when they entered, they did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. And it happened that while they were perplexed about this, behold, two men suddenly stood near them in dazzling apparel; and as the women were terrified and bowed their faces to the ground, the men said to them, «Why do you seek the living One among the dead? «He is not here, but He has risen. Remember how He spoke to you while He was still in Galilee, saying that the Son of Man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, and be crucified, and the third day rise again.» And they remembered His words, and returned from the tomb and reported all these things to the eleven and to all the rest. Now they were Mary Magdalene and Joanna and Mary the mother of James; also the other women with them were telling these things to the apostles. And these words appeared to them as nonsense, and they would not believe them. But Peter arose and ran to the tomb; stooping and looking in, he saw the linen wrappings only; and he went away to his home, marveling at that which had happened.

Mark 16:6

And he said to them, «Do not be amazed; you are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who has been crucified. He has risen; He is not here; behold, here is the place where they laid Him.
Easter Bible Verses- The Importance of the Resurrection

The Importance of the Resurrection- Eternal Life

1 John 2:25

And this is the promise which He Himself made to us: eternal life.

John 3:16-17

«For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have eternal life. «For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world should be saved through Him.

1 Corinthians 15:16-20

For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised; and if Christ has not been raised, your faith is worthless; you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished. If we have hoped in Christ in this life only, we are of all men most to be pitied. But now Christ has been raised from the dead, the first fruits of those who are asleep.

Easter is to celebrate the most important event in history, the resurrection of Jesus Christ. I pray you found these Bible Verses helpful to better understand and rejoice in Jesus.

All these verses you can also look up in your own bible in Norwegian or whatever language you prefer, but I found them in English since it was the easiest.

One thought on “Påske/Easter in Nebraska 2013

  1. Hei, så mye du har opplevd de siste dagene! Blir glad for det du deler her om påsken, og Jesu oppstandelse. Ja påsken er sannelig my mer enn påskeegg, lammestek og kos og hygge! Det Frelsesverket Jesus gjorde på Golgata, blir bare større og større! A propo det å dele måltid på Sjærtorsdag, i går spiste ca 85 personer kveldsmat sammen i Huset etter gudstjenesten, det var flott!! Fortsatt god påske!! klem m:-)

Legg igjen en kommentar

